What’s this all about?

I have been blogging elsewhere for over two years and occasionally would mention about my long tenure as a caregiver.  I’ve finally decided to go ahead and split from my main blog and branch off into new territory with this blog.

I was a caregiver to my parents for 14 or so years.  Mother had Alzheimer’s and Dad had diabetes.  Mom has been gone now for almost 4 years and Dad for almost 9 but for awhile there I was meeting myself coming and going while trying to take care of them when they were both at home together and then when they moved into two different nursing homes.

Someone who is caring for children while tending to the needs of their parents is called a member of the sandwich generation.  I used to call myself a member of the sandwich at the bottom of the lunch bag squished by the other things in the bag generation.  That is how I felt.

My goal is to tell the tale of what I went through as a caregiver in the hopes of first and foremost helping myself to heal as well as hopefully helping others; letting them know that while it is not easy being a caregiver, it can be done.  You can do it!

Now let me get back to tweaking this blog’s appearance and I will see you soon.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Maestro's Journal on March 5, 2014 - 2:49 pm

    I am glad you have decided to share your story and your experiences. And while I understand your primary goal is to help heal yourself, I have a feeling that as you move through this process, you will come to realize just how much you truly are helping others as well. Go for it, girl! I look forward to reading your posts.

    • #2 by A Caregivers Memoirs on March 5, 2014 - 2:58 pm

      Thanks for the words of encouragement 🙂 I hope I can help others because we as caregivers all need/needed the support.

  2. #3 by dhphotosite on March 7, 2014 - 4:15 pm

    I am also glad you have decided to share your experiences regarding caregiving. My Mom is getting up there in age as well and I am sure my sister and I will be the ones to help her as she needs it. I am sure your knowledge will come in very handy. Thank you again!

    • #4 by A caregivers memoirs on March 7, 2014 - 7:47 pm

      It took the right time for me to finally get to this point. I hope I can be of some help.

Leave a Reply

